Laws Banning Smoking in Vehicles Carrying Children – International Overview

Laws prohibiting smoking in vehicles carrying children have been adopted in the Canadian province of Nova Scotia, the Canadian municipality of Wolfville (Nova Scotia), the U.S. states of California, Arkansas and Louisiana, the U.S. municipalities of Bangor (Maine), Keyport (New Jersey), and Rockland County (New York), as well as Puerto Rico and the Australian states of South Australia and Tasmania. Bills are currently before several U.S. state legislatures and the South African Parliament. The Governments of the Australian Capital Territory and the state of New South Wales are also considering bringing forward such legislation. Private member`s bills have been introduced in the Canadian provinces of British Columbia and Ontario.